Relay Indiana

Relay Indiana is a service of the Indiana Telephone Relay Access Corporation (InTRAC), a non-profit organization established in 1991 by the Indiana State Legislature. Before telephone relay service, people using a TTY were limited in conversing with others also using a TTY. Since 1992, the relay service has opened up the lines of communication for many different styles of communicating.

Relay Indiana enables standard telephone users to communicate with deaf, hard-of-hearing, or speech impaired phone users. Our purpose is to provide telephone relay service for people who are deaf, hard-of-hearing or speech impaired. InTRAC’s responsibility is to coordinate the efforts of the Indiana telephone company members to comply with the laws of the Federal Communication Commission (FCC) concerning telephone relay service.

Local calls are provided free of charge. Long distance calls are billed to the customer by their long distance provider. Funding for the relay program is provided by a surcharge on each telephone line in the State of Indiana.

InTRAC’s day to day operations are handled by:
Ginny Barr, Executive Director. Andy Leffler, Assistant Director. Greg Gantt, Outreach Manager.

A seven member Board of Directors makes the decisions concerning State Contracts, Financial Management, new Legislative Laws, or new directions for InTRAC. Six members are from the telecommunication industry in Indiana. The remaining seat is filled by the Director of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services with the State of Indiana.

Alan Matsumoto, Board President

Martha Niehaus, Board Secretary
Perry Spencer RTC

Pepper Mulherin, Board Member

Sharon McKay, Board Treasurer

Robert Stewart, Board Member
Frontier Communications

Cindy Taylor, Board Member
Ligonier Telephone Co.

Rhonda Marcum, Board Member
DHHS Employment and Innovation Unit